Who won Wimbledon last year? Men’s and women’s champions at UK tennis grand slam in 2022

If Novak Djokovic does not successfully defend his Wimbledon title in 2023, the absence of Rafael Nadal through injury and Roger Federer through retirement makes it likely that only the fifth different male winner since 2002 will lift the trophy.

In the women’s section, world No.1 Iga Swiatek is hoping to be victorious at the All England Club for the first time.

Carlos Alcaraz, the top-ranked man in the world, is also bidding to win a first SW19 title, while two-time champion Petra Kvitova is among the women’s seeds.

Whose footsteps will the champions be following? Here’s who won last year and a list of former victors at Wimbledon.

MORE: Wimbledon men’s seedings: How they work, current tennis rankings

Who won Wimbledon last year? Men’s champion

Novak Djokovic was the 2022 Wimbledon champion, winning his 21st grand slam title and his seventh at SW19.

It wasn’t all plain sailing for one of the most decorated players in Wimbledon history: Djokovic dropped sets in all but two of his seven matches, recovering from two sets down to beat Jannik Sinner in the quarterfinals and a set behind against Cameron Norrie in the last four and Nick Kyrgios in the final.

Djokovic played Kyrgios in the final after the volatile Australian advanced from the semifinals without playing because of an injury suffered by two-time champion Rafael Nadal.

The popular Spaniard will not be competing in 2023 because he has undergone surgery on a hip problem, leading him to hint that 2024 will be his last in the sport.

Who won Wimbledon last year? Women’s champion

Elena Rybakina won her first grand slam title and became the first Kazakhstani to win a major when she recovered from a set down to beat Ons Jabeur in the women’s singles final.

Tunisian Jabeur, who was aiming to become the first African to win a grand slam crown in the Open Era, was 14 places above Rybakina in the rankings.

Simona Halep, champion in 2019, was Rybakina’s victim in the quarterfinals, losing in straight sets to the player who would succeed the retired Ash Barty as champion.

Wimbledon men’s singles champions: Full list of every winner in the Open Era

Roger Federer is the most successful men’s singles player at Wimbledon. His eight titles include a remarkable run of five in a row from 2003.

Federer’s retirement in 2022 means Djokovic needs to win Wimbledon once more to draw level with the Swiss superstar’s record. The winner of the last four editions, it is conceivable that the Serbian, 36, will become the outright record holder before he contemplates retirement.

American Pete Sampras, who dominated during the 1990s, has won the tournament seven times, as did Britain’s William Renshaw between 1881 and 1889.

Federer Sampras

Wimbledon men’s singles champions (Open Era)

Year Winner
2022 Novak Djokovic
2021 Novak Djokovic
2020 Cancelled due to COVID-19
2019 Novak Djokovic
2018 Novak Djokovic
2017 Roger Federer
2016 Andy Murray
2015 Novak Djokovic
2014 Novak Djokovic
2013 Andy Murray
2012 Roger Federer
2011 Novak Djokovic
2010 Rafael Nadal
2009 Roger Federer
2008 Rafael Nadal
2007 Roger Federer
2006 Roger Federer
2005 Roger Federer
2004 Roger Federer
2003 Roger Federer
2002 Lleyton Hewitt
2001 Goran Ivanisevic
2000 Pete Sampras
1999 Pete Sampras
1998 Pete Sampras
1997 Pete Sampras
1996 Richard Krajicek
1995 Pete Sampras
1994 Pete Sampras
1993 Pete Sampras
1992 Andre Agassi
1991 Michael Stich
1990 Stefan Edberg
1989 Boris Becker
1988 Stefan Edberg
1987 Pat Cash
1986 Boris Becker
1985 Boris Becker
1984 John McEnroe
1983 John McEnroe
1982 Jimmy Connors
1981 John McEnroe
1980 Bjorn Borg
1979 Bjorn Borg
1978 Bjorn Borg
1977 Bjorn Borg
1976 Bjorn Borg
1975 Arthur Ashe
1974 Jimmy Connors
1973 Jan Kodes
1972 Stan Smith
1971 John Newcombe
1970 John Newcombe
1969 Rod Laver
1968 Rod Laver

Wimbledon women’s singles champions: Full list of every winner in the Open Era

Martina Navratilova is the most successful women’s singles player in Wimbledon history, with six of her nine titles coming in consecutive years between 1982 and 1987.

Serena Williams is closest to Navratilova’s astonishing total among modern players, amassing seven titles across 14 years. Now 41, it is unlikely Williams will return to Wimbledon, although she is yet to retire officially and could be tempted back into action because she is one grand slam win away from Margaret Court’s record of 24 major trophies.

Navratilova and Williams’ fellow American, Helen Wills Moody, won Wimbledon eight times during the pre-Open Era, and Briton Dorothea Lambert Chambers triumphed seven times between 1903 and 1914.

Evert Navratilova

Wimbledon women’s singles champions (Open Era)

Year Winner
2022 Elena Rybakina    
2021 Ashleigh Barty
2020 Cancelled due to COVID-19
2019 Simona Halep
2018 Angelique Kerber
2017 Garbine Muguruza
2016 Serena Williams
2015 Serena Williams
2014 Petra Kvitova
2013 Marion Bartoli
2012 Serena Williams
2011 Petra Kvitova
2010 Serena Williams
2009 Serena Williams
2008 Venus Williams
2007 Venus Williams
2006 Amelie Mauresmo
2005 Venus Williams
2004 Maria Sharapova
2003 Serena Williams
2002 Serena Williams
2001 Venus Williams
2000 Venus Williams
1999 Lindsay Davenport
1998 Jana Novotna
1997 Martina Hingis
1996 Steffi Graf
1995 Steffi Graf
1994 Conchita Martinez
1993 Steffi Graf
1992 Steffi Graf
1991 Steffi Graf
1990 Martina Navratilova
1989 Steffi Graf
1988 Steffi Graf
1987 Martina Navratilova
1986 Martina Navratilova
1985 Martina Navratilova
1984 Martina Navratilova
1983 Martina Navratilova
1982 Martina Navratilova
1981 Chris Evert
1980 Evonne Goolagong
1979 Martina Navratilova
1978 Martina Navratilova
1977 Virginia Wade
1976 Chris Evert
1975 Billie Jean King
1974 Chris Evert
1973 Billie Jean King
1972 Billie Jean King
1971 Evonne Goolagong
1970 Margaret Court
1969 Ann Court
1968 Billie Jean King

Who are the youngest and oldest Wimbledon winners?

Switzerland’s Monica Seles is the youngest player to win Wimbledon in the Open Era, doing so as a 16-year-old in 1997. Before then, home player Lottie Dod won as a 15-year-old in 1887. Dod is said to have been listening to Wimbledon on the radio when she died 73 years later.

Boris Becker holds the men’s record, winning as a 17-year-old in 1985. The German beat the record set by Swedish legend Bjorn Borg as a 20-year-old nine years earlier.

Three-time champion Arthur Gore won as a 41-year-old in 1909, and the Briton still holds the record as the oldest player ever to have won the tournament. Federer is the oldest in the Open Era, at almost 36-and-a-half years old.

Britain’s Charlotte Cooper Sterry holds the women’s record as a 37-year-old winner in 1908. In the Open Era, the oldest women’s singles winner is Navratilova, who won at the age of 33 in 1990 — a record she almost raised by four years, only to lose to Conchita Martinez in the 1994 final.

3 thoughts on “Who won Wimbledon last year? Men’s and women’s champions at UK tennis grand slam in 2022”
Leave a Comment